NEXT UP: THE RIGHT TO ARM BEARS

cartoonApr7copy.jpg
The Vancouver Courier, Apr. 7
2 thoughts on “NEXT UP: THE RIGHT TO ARM BEARS

  1. Amazing you are still allowed such direct and savage humour… I see the trend on comics pages is that they don’t want them to be too funny nowadays, like Calvin and Hobbes used to be. They’ve taken the edge off. Probably because when its that “to the point”, 1/3 doesn’t get it, and another 1/3 gets outraged. But its too bad, cause us remaining 1/3 laughed out loud and felt really understood, and part of something that made the world seem cool.

    I’m sure the old style, “more intense” comics met a super important social need. I guess its part of the “not wanting to offend” trend… Which is kindof holding everyone hostage in a kind of Totalitarian dictatorship, where nothing but “approved” ideas are allowed to be spoken. Still a new idea to me, so I don’t have that idea fleshed out yet.

  2. I think my Dad, back in the 40’s I guess, did a Scouts thing where you were alone in the woods with only a knife (and warm clothing I suspect) to catch your food, build shelter, and keep warm.

Leave a Reply

